Thanksgiving

IMG_2223 IMG_2232 IMG_2236 IMG_2239

Okay, so it took me a while to get this up because seeing as it’s break I’ve been super busy travelling and seeing Christmas stuff (next post). The Saturday after Thanksgiving my family here had a Belgian version Thanksgiving for me since it isn’t celebrated here. We had an admittedly odd stuffed turkey(it was other meat inside), sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, cornbread muffins, stuffing, a jam sauce, pumpkin soup, etc…And apple pie and pumpkin pie for dessert that I made with the help of my American-French-Belgian cousin. The apple pie turned out so good, it tasted like home. It was also my first time having all the food on my plate minus the turkey and cornbread. Turns out I really enjoy stuffing and pumpkin soup… That night was also a whole family event- my parents, my grandma, my sister, her husband and their three sons, my brother, his girlfriend and her daughter, my cousin and Lara, an Australian exchange student who stayed there at the beginning of this year. I had so much fun and I don’t think Thanksgiving has ever been as good or meant as much to me before that day. I know my family will hate to read this, but it was my best one yet (except food-I really miss American food, especially the turkey). All in all it was pretty amazing. They even hung up an American flag on the wall for me. Oh, and the morning of my cousin and I made pancakes-we even were shaping them. That was great.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.